Change color in a sprite

Home Forums Monkey 2 Programming Help Change color in a sprite

This topic contains 17 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by  ArtemKuchin 1 week, 3 days ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 18 total)
  • Author

ArtemKuchin
    Participant

hello!

I am very new to Monkey. I learned the languages Prtty easy (i already have C,ASM,C++,C#,perl,php etc… in my work, so, this is nothing new), but i am not good with graphics. Mostly done data processing all my life.

So, i need to have several sprites, mostluy monochrome, but some can have several colors. And before drawng them i need to change a certain color to other one in a sprite. I have no clue where to start for this task. Everything is strictly 2d.

For exaple, i need to draw 50 monochrome sprites. I load them from file Then i need to change thge color of a sprte to some other color. For example, there are white by default and i change to red. Then draw 50 red sprites. The colro is actually user selectable, if it matters.

Hezkore
    Participant

Just draw the sprites as normal, and when you want to switch colour you do canvas.color=Color.Red or whatever and draw all the red sprites.
    You can also do canvas.color=New Color( r:float, g:float, b:float) to set your own custom colour.

I don’t have Monkey 2 installed right now, so the syntax is bound to be incorrect, but the general idea will work.

nerobot
    Participant

Also there is an Image.Color property.

ArtemKuchin
    Participant

Thank you

I tried mojotest app from bananas

did this:

image=Image.Load( “asset::RedbrushAlpha.png” ) image=Image.Load( “asset::RedbrushAlpha.png” ) image.Color=Color.Grey

The result is strange. Seems .color does not replacem pixel colors, but mixes with pixels in image.

See attached file.

Also, this way i do not have any way to choose what color to replace. But it is secondary task.

nerobot
    Participant