Clear errors and debugging

About Monkey 2 Forums Monkey 2 Development Clear errors and debugging

Tagged: 

This topic contains 12 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Mark Sibly 2 years, 9 months ago.

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author

Ethernaut
    Participant

I’m enjoying M2 a lot, but one thing I miss from M1 is the clear message when an error occurs in debug mode. It used to look like this, with each line that led to the error clearly shown.

Now a similar problem (accessing a null object) looks like this, which is basically unreadable for me:

Are better error messages something on the roadmap?

On the same topic, I see that Ted2 has a debugger, but I’m a total newbie and have never used a debugger before. I see that you can “step” through the running code, but that goes through absolutely everything, including standard modules. Is there a way to filter things? And how do I set a debug breakpoint, watch variables, etc (all the things Google tells me are important in a debugger!). Couldn’t find any info in the docs.

Cheers!

Mark Sibly
    Keymaster

The mangled output is what Ted2 uses to produce the debugview, so I’m guessing you’re not using Ted2?

I can clean this up, but I need a way for apps to tell if they’re running in Ted2 or not.

The debugger itself is pretty primitive right now, generally only useful for ‘post mortem’ debugging (which is all I’ve ever used debuggers for anyway). More features will come, but some will likely have to wait until reflection and other features are added.

Ethernaut
    Participant

Yup, I’ve been using Mollusk as the ide.

I haven’t had a lot of luck with Ted2 in OS X. If I run the Monkey2 (Macos) file under the main folder I can’t even open a file. Running ted2_macos under bin gets me a little further, but not much. I can open files, but they don’t show until I close Ted and reopen it.

I’m checking the same error now with Ted2 debugger running, pretty cool!
    Thanks!

Mark Sibly