mojox – experimental widget

About Monkey 2 Forums Monkey 2 Development mojox – experimental widget

This topic contains 2 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  degac 2 years, 9 months ago.

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author

degac
    Participant

Ok, this is my first attempt to create a ‘new’ widget in mojox. Probably (…sure!) there are dozens of way to make it better, but even if the code is BAD and UGLY (I know :P) I post here – maybe someone else could be inspired!

the widget is a ‘real’ progress bar… I suppose I don’t need to explain!

On my system I hacked/added to mojox folder my ‘class’ PBar and changed mojox.monkey2 to import this one.

The ‘base’ is the Label.monkey2 class – there are many other things not needed (icon & text informations etc) – and events are not implemented (I’m still thinking if this widget should or not be interactive with the user)

I still have no clear how to ‘render well’ a widget – it seems to depend on View & Style class, I have no intention to ‘break’ too much!

BPar class

PBar example

Cheers!

Mark Sibly
    Keymaster

Nice first attempt!

It’s a bit overcomplicated, probably because you based it on Label which actually does quite a bit these days! I’ve attached a simplified version below, with the text and event stuff ripped out for clarity. If you do want text/events on your PBar, it’s probably best to just extend Label…in which case you can ditch OnMeasure and just call Super.OnRender at the end of OnRender.

Some notes:

It’s a good idea to set preferred Layout, TextGravity (now fixed!) etc for a view in it’s ctor to increase the chances of it working as expected by users!