Monkey 2 executables on old PCs

Home Forums Monkey 2 Programming Help Monkey 2 executables on old PCs

This topic contains 9 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by  Pierrou 4 months ago.

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author

Pierrou
    Participant

Hi, I’ve been using BlitzMax and then MonkeyX for a few years now and I’d like to make the leap to Monkey2. I know XP is not supported, I understand why and I’m fine with it but at work we are still using an old IBM XP laptop which is just working fine and running fast. It never ever goes on the internet, we just use it during awake brain surgery and have no reason to buy another one for now (nor the money, despite the fact that the hospital I’m working at is quite a big one – here in France like anywhere else, the healthcare system is not getting much public money anymore these days).

Anyway, I’d need to code a very simple slideshow generator to stimulate our patients during surgery (at the moment we are mainly using simple Power Point slides, which is quite OK), and it would be a nice way to start using Monkey2, but the exe would need to run on that old XP machine. Is there a trick to compile an exe which would run on XP? Or must I stick to Blitz Max for that small project?

Thanks in advance for your help!

DruggedBunny
    Participant

Not sure if mx2 checks Windows version (yet?).

Do mx2 executables fail on XP? Any error messages?

Does a simple non-mojo app work, compiled in console mode, like this?

[/crayon]

A quick scan of /modules and /src turns up no obvious OS version checks, but it’s possible angle or sdl might do this. Wouldn’t imagine the backend C++ compiler prevents XP by default, though not sure if mx2 forces something in the build options…

Pierrou
    Participant

I must admit I haven’t even tried to run a simple example or any banana on XP, since Monkey1 exes didn’t work on XP. I will! Thanks!

Pierrou
    Participant

Console Hello World app = working