Simple cheat code class (My first attempt at using Monkey2!)

About Monkey 2 Forums Monkey 2 Code Library Simple cheat code class (My first attempt at using Monkey2!)

Tagged: 

This topic contains 7 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  jondecker76 6 months, 1 week ago.

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author

jondecker76
    Participant

I wanted to get a small start playing with Monkey2, so I thought I would build something simple but fun. I made a quick class to implement simple sequential cheat codes, and whipped up a quick demo of the old NES Contra cheat (Up, Up, Down, Down, Left, Right, Left, Right, B, A, B, A, Enter)

I’m still learning all of these new features, so please chime in if you see something that could have been done more efficiently.

Issues:
    No real issues, only keyboard is supported right now. I would like to get away from using the event system for checking keyboard input, but I haven’t found an elegant way to check that A) a key was pressed and B) which key it was – so for now until I figure it out, the OnKeyEvent will have to do..

Plans:
    I do plan on making this a full-fledged module that supports Keyboard, Joystick, Mouse Buttons and even other sequences as individual strokes (so that sequences can be chained or share a common base)

Anyways, give it a try and see what you think

nerobot
    Participant

A few notes:

• There is App.KeyEventFilter event you can subscribing to instead of OnKeyEvent – it allow us grab events outside of View class hierarchy
    • You can also provide method AddStrokes( strokeType:Int,strokeValues:Int[] ) so that we can add sequences simplier way passing array.

jondecker76
    Participant

Thanks for the tips nerobot

I implemented the AddStrokes method, and you’re right – it’s much cleaner for usage